Project Charlie Brown

Posted: January 17, 2016 in Uncategorized

Sometimes I wonder if I can even make a slight impact when I come up with little ideas and passions, but then I am reminded of a very good analogy that I base my life on when it comes to helping others or paying it forward.  I’m sure many have heard of the “Starfish analogy” but in case you have not here it is:

starfish4

While walking along a beach, an elderly gentleman saw someone in the distance leaning down, picking something up and throwing it into the ocean.

As he got closer, he noticed that the figure was that of a young man, picking up starfish one by one and tossing each one gently back into the water.

He came closer still and called out, “Good morning! May I ask what it is that you are doing?”

The young man paused, looked up, and replied “Throwing starfish into the ocean.”

The old man smiled, and said, “I must ask, then, why are you throwing starfish into the ocean?”

To this, the young man replied, “The sun is up and the tide is going out. If I don’t throw them in, they’ll die.”

Upon hearing this, the elderly observer commented, “But, young man, do you not realise that there are miles and miles of beach and there are starfish all along every mile? You can’t possibly make a difference!”

The young man listened politely. Then he bent down, picked up another starfish, threw it into the back into the ocean past the breaking waves and said, “It made a difference for that one.”

So Now I am going to talk about a little project that my little heart desires, I got the idea while putting my Christmas decor away, I decided that my little charlie Brown Christmas tree (yes I have one and the base broke so the poor thing is sitting in a vase) should stay up all year to remind me that good deeds and paying it forward should not be limited to just Christmas time.

charlie-brown-christmas-tree1

We see miracles happen around Christmas when people in need are abundantly blessed by the generosity of so many. Everyone feels great they helped someone and they can go another year feeling good. But what about the rest of the year? Are people as generous? If you do a little research its easy to find that Food Banks are very low in January and practically have to beg for more donations to feed those less fortunate. Having to rely on a foodbank can happen to anyone, not just those who continuously rely on them but for those who had hours reduced at work, or have been laid off or find themselves down on hard times.

So this is what project Charlie Brown is all about. Right now I’m only focusing on my community. I do not have the resources to help every star fish on the beach but if I can even make a small impact on one…it matters. They matter. If I can get a few people to help then bonus. What I am doing is simply attempting to fill a small hamper or gift basket for 1 family in need each month and finding a person or family in need of a blessing through the grape vine…everyone knows somebody so it cant be that hard to locate a need. Instead of a food hamper any monetary donations I get will go towards a food gift card so that family may purchase some groceries. And the baskets are filled with all sorts of goodies (Because lets face it…getting a random goodie basket is awesome) things from bath products, beauty products, jewelry, clothing, accessories, chocolate bars, treats, etc etc etc. (Filling baskets for women, men, children, babies and teens once I have a basket filled it will go out to someone)

If you are reading this blog and you are not in my local area I encourage you to adopt this project in your area…and if you cant find the time please at least consider a few donations to a local shelter or food bank. If you happen to actually know me and you are interested in helping (and $1 goes a long way trust me) simply get in contact with me and I will give you more details and will update all those who have helped out. I don’t know how big this project can potentially get, but I’m just taking that little step of faith and just going with it. Lets make 2016 awesome.

 

 

Leave a Reply

