Overcoming a great fear.

Posted: November 2, 2015 in Uncategorized

Maybe I should be writing an email to the radio station to let them know how much their station has impacted my life. But I figured I would post it in a blog first. I just felt like writing tonight.

I live in a society (especially the online community) where the name of Jesus is either offensive or lame. I have a choice to remain silent and be left alone or to speak out and get trolled or called names or even blocked…honestly it’s worth it. I’m here to encourage and be positive. So here’s one of my many Christian Radio experience testimonies.

12189866_10207132465444409_7019095797268522185_nI live in Central Ontario where my favorite radio station is life 100.3 FM, Life is a christian super station that plays my favorite music, broadcasts my favorite programs and inspires me daily. When I am at work I unfortunately cant get reception to this station so I listen to the local Rock Station…to be honest the ONLY time my local rock station EVER inspired me was a time I was praying at work for God to speak to me and the song “I want you to want me” came on the radio…other than that the rock station has provided me with a few laughs, don’t get me wrong I love rock but it’s not life changing like the songs I hear on Life 100.3.

So many times I’ve tuned in and there was a message for me…be it through a song or through one of the programs. The station has helped me through anxiety, sadness and loss. The station has brought me tears of joy and many many aha moments. I want to share my experience so bad but then when I go to post on facebook or twitter I pause…because I get scared of what others will think. I will admit some days I am strong and can put up with the constant bullying but other times I am weak and need to stay away from social media or it brings me immense stress.

10906134_10204959268195836_5692205277779842224_nI got my drivers license a while back. And while most people enthusiastically get their license at 16 I waited till I was 27. WE got our second car, a nice 2015 Honda civic lease and while most people would be all giddy to drive I was dreading the day I went and got my license because it meant I had no excuse…I had to get behind the wheel and practice driving. The thing is having severe anxiety disorder puts up walls, some days I can push past other days I put up walls. And The day I passed my written exam with flying colors was the day my anxiety grew to epic proportions.

I passed now I had to drive home because all the way to write the test my husband told me that no matter what I was going to be driving home. And I wanted to just die right there. I told myself “I can’t do this…I can’t do it…” And now I had no excuse…I had a legal reason to sit behind the wheel.

We stopped at a gas station, I sat in the driver seat and waited for the hubby to finish pumping gas. And I started to pray…really really hard. I was terrified. So I turned up the radio and here are the lyrics to the song that began playing…

Staring at a stop sign
Watching people drive by
T Mac on the radio
Got so much on your mind
Nothing’s really going right
Looking for a ray of hope

Whatever it is you may be going through
I know He’s not gonna let it get the best of you

[Chorus:]
You’re an overcomer
Stay in the fight ‘til the final round
You’re not going under
‘Cause God is holding you right now
You might be down for a moment
Feeling like it’s hopeless
That’s when He reminds You
That you’re an overcomer
You’re an overcomer

Everybody’s been down
Hit the bottom, hit the ground
Ooh, you’re not alone
Just take a breath, don’t forget
Hang on to His promises
He wants You to know

[Chorus]

The same Man, the Great I am
The one who overcame death
He’s living inside of You
So just hold tight, fix your eyes
On the one who holds your life
There’s nothing He can’t do
He’s telling you

(Take a breath, don’t forget
Hang on to His promises)

[Chorus]

You’re an overcomer
You’re an overcomer
You’re an overcomer

So don’t quit, don’t give in, you’re an overcomer
Don’t quit, don’t give in, you’re an overcomer
Don’t quit, don’t give in, you’re an overcomer
You’re an overcomer

Mandissa “Overcomer”

I sat there with tears running down my face. My husband got in the passenger seat, bless his soul because it takes great strength to put your life on the line like that…trust me he was putting his life in my hands…those hands that were on the steering wheel. The hands and feet that miserably sucked at parking lot driving. And I sat there and said “I’m good lets go”

And off I drove, on the highway (Not a major one) and God kept every car on that road far away from me. I drove and the minute I pulled into our driveway a great big smile spread across my face. I did it, and while this may not be a huge deal for some it was a major deal for me. I was an overcomer…and each time I hear that song I am brought back to the day I first drove a car. It was a huge step for me and now I am driving confidently, I’m doing something I never thought I could ever do and I probably wouldn’t have taken that step had that song never have come on the radio at that exact time.

So thankyou Life 100.3 and Thank you beautiful Mandissa…and Nick, my awesome husband who taught me how to drive even though he was probably scared to death.

Leave a Reply

