The journey of Mad Eye and Nemo

Posted: June 18, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

image

image

I think my issue is I just can’t say no to a rescue…and this is why and how I’ve managed to rack up 20 critters.  Snakes however,  these critters are quite easy depending on type of snake and there are breeders who have hundreds in their homes and can manage to look after them all.  My snakes,  however,  get much more attention.  I regularly handle mine and take them out for Cool photo opportunities.  Kids love to come spend time with my many critters and snakes are probably the most popular… Get a kid to hold a snake at a young age and they will likely never have a snake phobia into adult hood. 

NEMO and Mad Eye were born on may 30th (sometime during that weekend anyway)  they are boa constrictors and boas  give live birth.  There were over 40 babies born however these two (have not sexed them yet)  were both born with one eye popped out. 

image

The eye 3 weeks ago looked pretty nasty.  Because they are flawed they can’t be sold so I was asked if I could take them.  Without hesitation I said yes and took my two new babies home.  I got into the car and my husband saw them. 

“these are almost perfect sunglow boas. We can either keep them or raise them and rehome  them.” I explained. 

“how big do they get? ” my husband asked.

” big” I replied.

“how big? ”

” big. ”

Boas (regular everyday red tailed boas)  can grow up to 10 feet long and through their lifetime can keep gradually growing.  They aren’t an overly dangerous snake.  Most would assume they are but boas are pretty much kittens unless food is involved.  They aren’t the largest snake you can own.  They are docile in nature when out of the enclosure.  Most snake injuries occur when people are careless and put their hands inside a snake enclosure.  With large snakes the safest way to deal with them is to always use a snake hook.  When snakes are fed in their enclosure they can expect it’s feeding time every time the door opens which is why it’s safer to have them outside the enclosure.  Bites generally occur when hands are mistaken for food or a snake is territorial. 

image

Right now these two cuties are small.  They grow pretty quick though.  Is it safe to keep them?  Absolutely it just takes responsibility and a proper locked enclosure.  Will I keep them? I guess we shall see.  But for now you can follow their progress as well as all my other critters progress on my instagram page jessgoslin  🙂 

I must say though their damaged eyes are looking much better and it seems they will just end up with empty eye sockets.  Nemo  had his first meal last week and mad Eye simply was not ready so I will try again.  Neither has shed  yet but I’m sure their shed  day should be soon. 

Leave a Reply

