Storm of Dental proportion

Posted: October 12, 2013 in health
Tags: , , , ,

Tooth Beaver

I should have had that stupid molar filled last year. But noooooo I had to wait until it started to hurt before I even considered doing anything about it. My bottom first molar had a cavity and it kept getting bigger and bigger and bigger until one day the tooth beavers got to the root and took a nice big bite out of a nerve! Talk about ouch! But I was too late for properly caring for it. Floss wasn’t going to work, killing the infection with salt water was not going to work…I was doomed but how bad could an infected tooth be?

I started to get severe tooth pains on October 3rd, I just tried to mask it with tylenol. Friday was literal hell because I had to go to work and finish my shift with a throbbing tooth. I downed enough pain meds to knock out a horse, went home and the pain slowly went away. Saturday it felt fine so I figured it would probbaly come back every so often-I get dental benifits eventually, I can totally wait!

But here’s the problem with an abscessed tooth. They can cause serious complications. By monday after the pain returned I had a high fever, I was completely out of it, I had zero appetite, and my lymph glands under my chin swelled like 100 times their normal size. I was not holding up too good plus I was starting to have a hard time breathing. The Hospital would not do anything so I did the only thing I could do. Call an emergency dentist and get my butt into the office so I could at least get onto some antibiotics.

And that’s what I did. I went to the dentist by 4 in the afternoon looking like the undead-I would have aced an audition to be a zombie in a movie because I was moaning and lumbering around like one. Because I was so swelled up the dentist decided to just take an xray of the tooth and send me home with a prescription to meds and some Tylenol 3. Xrays are no fun at all-try biting down on the film when your mouth feels like world war 3 is occuring inside of it.

I had no peace all week leading up to my tooth extraction appointment. I chose an extraction because it costs less than a root canal…like a whole lot less than a root canal. My insurance I’m getting next month won’t even cover a root canal. I figured they’d freeze me and yank the tooth out just like that. Apparently adult molars are fairly huge.

1382012_10153385078405171_1275427883_nSo here I am actually looking forward to a dentist appointment. When you are in pain the dentist is a saint, when you have to go for cleanings, filling and xrays you dread the dentist. I hate needles and I was savouring the feel of novocaine. I had no clue what to expect. And in all honesty on my dentist chair I experienced peace for the first time all week. Wonderful relaxing peace. It took 4 shots of novocaine to freeze me up. It didn’t hurt too bad. The third needle hit a nerve and my mouth felt as though I was being electrocuted. I had no idea nerves could do that. Humans have electricity surging through them. It was quite an odd but cool feeling.

Now for anyone who’s maybe faced with this procedure and you are scared, there’s nothing to worry about you will feel NOTHING. Just lay back, relax and pretend your stuck in road construction because that’s exactly what it felt like…minus the pain of course. To remove a first molar it has to be cut in half. So it takes the dentist a minute or two to saw the sucker in half. You will smell and taste burning. Once the dentist is done cutting it in half they start pushing it around to loosen it, again I felt NOTHING. The only time I felt anything was when my head was jerked around as he tugged on the tooth. There was no feeling of it comming out except that the first half flew into the air. The second one came out easily enough and they cleaned the two little holes where the roots were then gave me a stitch and that was that.

1391847_10153385076120171_853957159_nAnd tada iceburg teeth! The roots are actually bigger than the tooth. When I saw my tooth I was totally amazed at how huge it was. Now I have a big molar to gross people out.

I had Mcdonalds after for being such a good little patient. It took me 10 minutes to eat 1 chicken nugget so I just ate the dipping sauce and was satisfied with that. By day 2 it’s a bit easier to eat and you can eat anthing soft that won’t end up getting stuck in the tooth crater. Popcorn and chips are not a wise choice. Soup is great and eating anything that can be swished away with water is acceptable. By day 3 chewing is a lot easier. And brushing the teeth isn’t as scary. My pain hasn’t been too bad post procedure, however I’m still dealing with enarged Lymph nodes that don’t seem to want to drain-other than the fact my jaw is puffy from the enlarged lymph nodes I look fine and feel fine.

The cost of the whole procedure (In Canada) was $361 including the xray. Not too bad really.

I highly recommend that anyone with an abscessed tooth see a dentist as soon as possible. If money is preventing you from such a vist there are dentists who offer payment plans and there are government subsidies granted by your local municipality if you call and ask. I ended up with a potentially life threatning condition and had I not have gotten the antibiotics my lymph nodes could have grown to the point they pushed on my neck making it impossible to breathe. Sure by then my dental visit at a hospital would be free but having to have a breathing tube stuck into your neck just doesn’t sound all that fun.

And now that I’m on the mend, I’m going to take good care of my pearly whites and follow up with my dentist to make sure all my other teeth are in great shape so this does not happen again…and also that I don’t end up like my good friend Ren.

RenStimpyTooth

Leave a Reply

