Putting the Tornado on a diet

Posted: March 26, 2013 in health
Tags: , , , , , ,

Looney Tunes - Tasmanian Devil 1The above photo represents who I can be when I become irritated or the right conditions occur to create a “Tornado”. In fact my husband has even nicknamed me “Tornado” or “Taz” at times.

If I get irritated (Usually because of lack of sleep or food) I can have short outbursts of frustration, anger, confusion etc. I kind of snap like a short tornado outburst, It doesn’t last long but it leaves a small trail of emotional damage. Sometimes physical because I have broken things.

Now when the conditions are right, just like they are in the Midwest United States for a Tornado I can have a nice long outburst which consists of a whole day or two of tornados that strike whenever. It doesn’t happen often but it has happened and it isn’t pretty. What are the conditions? Anxiety mixed in with lack of sleep, lack of nutrients, lack of glucose which causes a headache, weakness which causes frustration and stubbornness not to take it upon myself to eat something healthy or to go take a time out.

Having Anxiety disorder and being diagnosed with hypoglycemia is one thing but combining the two with lack of a consistent diet and thats just asking for a disaster. Hypoglycemia will also cause anxiety if it is not maintained, so that’s double the anxiety.

So after having a stress induced headache for 4 days and passing out at work I finally bit my pride and called my doctor. When he looked at my health history he asked if I was maintaining my diet. By maintaining that means, Breakfast, snack, lunch, snack, dinner, snack…I hung my head in shame because I only actually maintain my diet maybe once a week. That’s usually the days we actually go out for breakfast. In other words am I anorexic? No. Do I infact have an eating disorder? Yes. Snarfing down food everyday but at an unconsistent rate is infact an eating disorder. My body is not getting enough energy and nutrients throughout the day.

So for the last 3 weeks I have been on a consistent diet. And let me tell you, eating something at 5:15 in the morning is NOT easy. But I wake up that early most mornings for work and I was told to eat something before leaving for work so I forcefully ate something that would allow my body to wake up and get my digestive system going.  Breakfast is a very important meal and it can mean the difference between having a good day or having a moody day.

Advice to those with Hypoglycemia and/or low iron.

If you are hypoglycemic or even suspect it, or even if you have a mood disorder it is important to eat something within a half hour of waking up. It can be hard sometimes to stomach food really early in the morning so starting small then working your way up to bigger meals is a good start. If juice is all you can stomach at first then have a cup of juice. I started with a handful of trail mix, it has protien and iron in it. The protien will give you a boost because protien takes longer to metabolize in the body. If you have enough protien then you won’t experience sugar crashes when you have carbs and sugars.

Make sure to have a larger meal or what I like to call Breakfast #2 within 2 hours of having that little morning snack.

Snack between breakfast and lunch. A cup of yogurt, some cookies, crackers etc. I’ll admit sometimes I chose unhealthy snacks but as long as they have protien or iron I’m good to go.

Lunch should be a bigger meal than the snacks although I’ll admit that once I get snacking I don’t stop thus my lunches can be smaller.

Snack before 3pm so you avoid that 3:00 wall.

Have a nice dinner which should include Protiens, Carbs and lots of nutrients. I try to get meat into my dinner each night but if I can’t I will definately have cheese. Cheese is my favorite food group.

And of course have a few little snacks before bed time. Or be like me and snarf down a whole bag of bits and bites.

Foods that contain iron are Meats, Nuts, legumes, and green leafy veggies. The Iron in Non meat is harder to absorb so you need more of it. The Best food for someone who has low iron is Chili because it contains meat, beans and vitamine C. Vitamine C helps absorb iron so make sure your body has enough vitamine C and you shouldn’t have too much of an issue getting enough iron. I’ve been making sure to drink Orange Juice every time I make a commitment to eat something with iron in it.

Most importantly if you make a commitment to stick to a balanced diet make sure to stick with it. It’s been 3 weeks now for me and people have noticed a change in my behaviour and I have noticed that my energy levels are getting better, I can think more clearly and I have less panic attacks from anxiety. When I do start to get moody I can easily stop my self from continuing.

I’m just so glad that I finally started to look after my health. I feel so much better and I’m sure that others around me will be thankful too. I was able to work 14 days in a row at work and don’t think I would have been able to had I not of gone on a consistent diet. I want to thank everyone for advice and for rooting for me and I am very grateful for those keeping a close eye on me making sure I don’t go off track.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

