Advent days 16-18

Posted: December 19, 2012 in Faith
Tags:

Day 16: Saint Nicholas

saint-nicholas1So who exactly is Santa?

Santa Clause originates from a real person who was born about 280 AD. Nicholas was a devout and faithful follower of Christ and lived out the true Christmas spirit everyday by loving unconditionally, shining Christ’s light and showing love to those who were in need. One legend says that Nicholas gave gold to the father of three sister’s under the cover of darkness because he had fallen on hard times and could not provide for his 3 daughters. He dropped the coins in a window and some fell into a stocking (Socks)…this is where the tradition of Santa filling Sockings comes from.

There are many Legends of Saint Nicholas but one thing is for certain, He was kind hearted, he loved the Gospels and he loved to Shine the light of Jesus. It is even said that he once slapped another Bishop accross the face because he said Jesus wasn’t God’s Son.

Does Santa still bring presents in the dark of the night? Of course he does. So long as the legend goes on Santa is alive even if He doesn’t come down a chimney and bring presents. This Christmas be one of Santa’s helpers and help to carry on the spirit of Saint Nicholas. Buy a gift to a child in need or a gift to someone in need. Be a real blessing to someone this Christmas. Santa’s elves are everywhere, you can be an elf too 🙂

Day 17: An abundance of giving

I dropped off my Blessing box yesterday and the items will reach families in need. I’m not going to say what or how much I gave but I do know that our Pastor’s office was filled with lots and lots of food items, toys etc. It was just absolutely amazing! This inspires me this season because I know that in this world there are kind hearted and selfless people. We all gave annonymously, nobody really knows who gave what or how much (And it really doesn’t matter how much or how little you give) the point is I am just so overwhelmed by everyone’s love.

To all those who selflessly and lovingly give, you inspire me.

Day 18: The third Candle

The third Candle in the advent wreath is the candle of Joy.

Psalm 30:11  You turned my wailing into dancing; you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy,

Luke 1:14  He will be a joy and delight to you, and many will rejoice because of his birth,

Like 2:10 But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid. I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people.

John 16:33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

1 Peter 1:8  Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy,

Wow what wonderful news and these are just a few verses on the topic of Joy. What is Joy? And what brings people Joy?

Joy is an  Intense and especially ecstatic or exultant happiness. People can be brought to Joy through happy life events. Maybe the birth of a child, a wedding, a vacation…or in my case a new Hellp kitty T-shirt? I feel very joyful when I wear a Hello Kitty T-shirt, I mean who wouldn’t? Or Batman, Batman brings me joy because Batman is epic!

Things and events last for moments though and my joy in those small moments can be taken away quickly. How does one experience permanent joy? I’ve tried everything and the only time I can even remotely experience Joy is when I am praising and worshipping God. Not only am I comforted in times of trouble I can express Joy through God.

I’ve been through trobled times and I have witnessed others go through some pretty serious times in their life yet they still expressed Joy in Jesus Christ. I’ve faced financial crisis, Family crisis and health crisis and the only comfort and joy I could find through any of these trying times was through Jesus. When I sing I am joyed, when I pray I am joyed, when I just lift my hands and worship even though I’m upset I am joyed. I wouldn’t trade this for the world. I’ve tried to get Joy on my own and have never succeeded. It’s no wonder people turn to God in troubled times. Why would anyone turn to God when he allows tragedies and heartache? Because he brings Joy. When Jesus Christ was born he brought great Joy along with him and this is the meaning of the Christmas Season…JOY. I want others to experience this joy.

But I accept that not everyone wants to accept this Joy…so instead I will bring them joy in other ways…maybe by blessing them with a gift or by lending an ear or just by helping them or supporting them.

Bring Joy not only to yourselves this Advent…you have the ability to provide Joy to so many others. You’d be surprised what can bring others joy…even if only for a temporary time.

 

Leave a Reply

