Advent Day 3: Lighting the candle of Hope

Posted: December 4, 2012 in Faith
Tags: , ,

advent wreath

As my family take the time to light the first candle (Which is Green) of Hope in our Advent Wreath (I managed to find one) we have decided to say aloud something we hope for. We thought we’d share:

Jessica: “I hope we somehow manage to get enough fire wood to last us through the winter as we are almost out and completely broke thus can not afford fire wood.”

Nick:  “I hope that I am able to supply the families basic needs, bring in enough income to provide food and pay the bills.”

Aurora (Our 6 year old daughter): “I hope I can go to Grandma’s house for a sleep over.”

As you can see an Adult’s hope and a child’s hope are totally different. Oh how I could hope like a child. Go back to the day where I hoped I was getting an awesome Christmas present. Back to the day I hoped that under that wrapping paper of that big box was an epic present. Under that wrapping was a giant farm house, so it was pretty epic at the age of 8. My Daughter hopes to get a unicorn…I got her one but it’s not real (Apparently to get a real one you have to check out the unicorn lairs in North Korea)

But as we light our first candle, the green one of hope we stand and just simply hope. But one thing is for certain, I do know that at the end of this journey is the epic present. There is nothing on this earth that compares to the Epic Present that waits God’s faithful servants.

Titus 3:7 so that being justified by his grace we might become heirs according to the hope of eternal life.

We are heirs to a big promise a huge inheritance.
So in my little heart tonight I hope, for things that we need, for things others need, sometimes I hope that I will be able to continue blessing others because I enjoy it so very much. I hope for a better world, a better tomorrow, I even hope that my cold goes away because being stuffed up during the Cristmas season kind of sucks. I hope.
Jesus you are my hope.

 

Leave a Reply

