Advent Day 1: being a blessing this Advent season

Posted: December 3, 2012 in Faith
Tags: , , , ,

advent I have decided to blog this month about Advent. Before I begin here is a little tidbit abut what Advent is all about.

Advent is a period of spiritual preparation in which many Christians make themselves ready for the coming, or birth of the Lord, Jesus Christ. Celebrating Advent typically involves a season of prayer, fasting and repentance, followed by anticipation, hope and joy.

Many Christians celebrate Advent not only by thanking God for Christ’s first coming to Earth as a baby, but also for his presence among us today through the Holy Spirit, and in preparation and anticipation of his final coming at the end of time.

I have always been one to celebrate Christ’s Birth through out the year but this year I have decided to celebrate Advent. Each day I plan to celebrate this wonderful season. I also encourage everyone to celebrate all year as this is quite important. I can guarantee that being a C&E Christian is not fullfilling enough. (C&E stands for Christmas and Easter by the way) Also before I begin blogging I must also state that I do not belive Jesus was born on December 25th, this date was actually chosen by the church to replace a pagan holiday. I’m sure there are many arguments about when Christ was born but in all honesty why does it matter? What matters is he was born and this is good news.

When you observe this season which is a Season of Celebration and gifts I encourage everyone to take the time to bless someone in need this season. Remember that not everyone can afford Gifts for their children, not everyone will enjoy a nice turkey dinner and not everyone will get to visit family. While you are shopping for that perfect gift for a loved one take the time to buy an extra toy for a toy drive or buy some food for the food bank. Food Banks are very needy this time of year as they rush to make Christmas Hampers for their clients.

If you do not have the money to give this year (And you are possibly one of the many who have to accept help) no worries you can still bless someone. Your time is even more valuable than things. There are many shut ins, Retirement homes, homeless shelters etc that need and value help. 🙂 This year I have found myself unable to give things because our budget has become tight so instead of buying things I have decided to donate my time to who ever needs it. This year I am able to not only attend the community Christmas dinner (A free dinner) but I am able to donate my time to help, I’m still not sure what they will have me do but what ever it is it’s probably much needed and a big blessing to all those who will be able to enjoy a free meal on Christmas Day.

policeThe above photo shows an amazing example of giving. Selfless giving. This is a recent photo taken of a New York City Police Officer who bought a pair of shoes and socks for a homeless man. The Homeless man had nothing on his feet and it was cold outside. The only thing this homeless man could give back was a smile and simple statement “May God bless you!”

35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ Matthew  25: 35-36

Christmas is about Jesus and for good reason. Every day should be centered around Christ and I pray that after the Advent Season is over we will all overflow with the love of Jesus Christ for others.

 

Leave a Reply

