Days 45-55 in 10 week Challenge

Posted: November 6, 2012 in Faith, Uncategorized

Day 45: Preparing for the storm

There is a literal storm comming this weekend (Hurricane Sandy is due to hit the Eastern Coast and come into Ontario) and Millions of people are preparing for it. There has been lots of warning and people are on edge and worried about what this storm can bring.

As a Christian I face storms in my daily life as well (emotional Storms, Physical storms and even literal storms) and I know that I am not alone. Being a Christian does not mean I am immune to hardships but it does mean that I do not face hardships alone. We are also warned about storms and informed on how to properly prepare for them so that we make it through.

We are warned about facing persecution, we are warned that we will face pain and hardships. The Bible contains plenty of examples of people who have faced hardships. Paul the Apostle took quite the beating during his ministry and today there are still many who face storms. There are Christian leaders in dangerous contries who risk death. The worst thing I have to face by being a Christian is humiliation…for the most part I’ve been called stupid. People hate me for who I am, they usually like me until they realize what I am (Thankfully not everyone is like that, and most don’t point fingers and hate you due to religious back ground) I face hatred all the time and have even lost a few friends. My Faith has been tested many a time and I have had to go through sickness, sadness, heart break, anxiety etc. In this world we WILL face devastation at some point.

Thankfully I do not have to go through storms alone, I’ve had my warning and now it’s time to prepare so that when I do face the storms in my life I will get through them as smoothly as possible. It’s always such a blessing to see other Christians go through big hardships but yet have a sense of peace. God’s Glory shines very brightly through weakness. It inspires me when I see Cancer patients have peace, when I see people with financial issues content and trusting of God etc. How I strive for that kind of faith.

My favorite way to prepare for Storms is to put on the full armor of God. A soldier wouldn’t go out in the battle feild missing a part of their armor so neither should we as children of God.

10 A final word: Be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on all of God’s armor so that you will be able to stand firm against all strategies of the devil. 12 For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places.13 Therefore, put on every piece of God’s armor so you will be able to resist the enemy in the time of evil. Then after the battle you will still be standing firm. 14 Stand your ground, putting on the belt of truth and the body armor of God’s righteousness. 15 For shoes, put on the peace that comes from the Good News so that you will be fully prepared.16 In addition to all of these, hold up the shield of faith to stop the fiery arrows of the devil. 17 Put on salvation as your helmet, and take the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.18 Pray in the Spirit at all times and on every occasion. Stay alert and be persistent in your prayers for all believers everywhere. Ephesians 6:10-18

The storms will come, the Enemy will seek to destroy, people will persecute, hardships will come…but a well equipped soldier can always endure the storm.

Day 46: Feeling the toll

I have not been to Church Sunday Morning for 2 months now, all I can say is I really miss going. My job requires me to work every Sunday so I miss out on seeing my church Family Sunday morning.

Sometimes Christianity can be a personal thing, it is good to have alone time with God. However being a Christian also means a group effort as you need the whole body in order to operate. We need the person who can give a good message, we need the encourager, the hard worker, the friendly smile, the ones who do things in the back ground…we need a group in order to build each other up. And lately I am really missing out. Being away from Sunday morning worship has really taken a toll on my spiritual health.

I know there are people out there who purposefully not go to church because they either don’t want to or they are simply mad at someone in the church. Whatever the reason  I don’t feel those are good excuses for skipping out on Sunday. Speaking from experience we need to be amongst our Brothers and Sisters in Christ to grow.

If you have been avoiding Church I encourage you to go back. If you have the time and opportunity take it. I have lost my time to go Sunday Mornings and I really wish I could have Sunday mornings back. I miss my family, I need them and I hope that soon I will be able to reunite with eeryone on Sunday Morning.

Day 47: Strong Marriage

Nothing makes me more sad than seeing spouces mistreat one another in public or hearing about a husband who’s wasting time so he doesn’t have to go home to face his nagging wife. What makes me really sad is people’s comments aout my own marriage, “Oh you’re happy now, give it 5 more years and you will be in my shoes.”

The majority of people who come in with marriage problems and always bad mouth their spouce do not have God in their life. They could not care less about anyone else, it’s always “Me, me me, what benifits me.” And it’s always the same stories, excuses and complaints. Instead of working on their marriage they just let it fizzle…and in todays day and age, who really cares? Divorce is so easy and if you don’t get one you just simply can be a stranger in your own house. Spouces become more like room mates than spouces.

Do you think I will listen to such people tell me that I will not be hapily married in 5 years? Of course not, because I have seen many happy marriges (Even ones where God is not present…so if they can work out marriage certainly so can I) I have witnessed so many marriages where people fall in love with one another every single day. These people inspire me and I thank them for having strong marriages so that I have an example to look at. Good Marriages are becomming rare these days so it really is an encouragement to see couples working it out.

Day 48: Hallowseve

Tomorrow is Halloween so I thought I’d talk about it. Halloween is one of those events that kind f pulls people in tow directions. You have Churches who claim it’s evil and those who just say “Well, it’s harmless and fun.” I’ve been to both such churches in my lifetime and have missed many Trick or Treat nights because of it.

Halloween is filled with dark things, lots of blood, gore, and scare. However at the same time there are lots of cute things…I mean who can resist candy and little kids in adorable costumes? My church takes their kids out for Halloween but some do not. I don’t really blame parents for banning Halloween, after all it technically is just a big cash grab just like Christmas.

Here is the thing, if you ban your kids from halloween you need to ban them form most TV shows as well. If you ban your kids from Halloween but brag about watching the Walking Dead then your priorities are messed up. I talk to my daughter about some of the evils that are present at Halloween time and we tend to ignore those dark things. We also donate some of her candy (The hard candy) for OCC shoeboxes.

If Halloween is a big deal and you loathe it…why not make it an opportunity to hand out candies with a church invitation attached? My church has a Wednesday night children’s group so I think Next year when I hand out candy I will also hand out an invitation to the kid’s group. Halloween is a great time to shine your light…so maybe this halloween or the next, go at it with a different approach.

Day 49: Shine in the Darkness

Today I was told off by someone because I began to talk to a friend of mine again. I was told that my friend was a poiso and I needed to cut her out of my life.

This is a good time to tell other Christians to be careful how you word things and what you say. Yes there are times you need to cut people from your life, other times maybe you happen to be the only light and support in their lives. Besides we encounter all sorts of people every day. If my coworker is poisonous should I quit my job? No.

My friend and I had a fall out due to indifference, but we have agreed to keepeligion out and I have been promised that she would no longer post things on my facebook. She still does her own thing on her own Facebook page but thats fine. I still do my own thing on mine. I also want myt friend to see Jesus’ light shine…not just from me but from everyone else. The reason she loathes religion is the sole fact that many religious people judge…the role of a true Christian is to never give up on anyone, to be able to shine through any darkness and to  live a good example. Forgive the unforgiveable. Love the unloved. Make possible the impossible. Just love like Jesus and I know the Jesus I follow would not grumble at anyone who grumbles at him.

Bless those who persecute you, pray for them and just show your love.

Day 50: Storms that stop everything

I can not go into details but something horrible has happened today. A fear came true and everything was turned upside down. Sometimes life deals you situations where you drop EVERYTHING and nothing matters anymore. Today I had such a thing occur where NOTHING but the situation mattered. I dropped everything to deal, but the first thing I did was ask God for help in this. And if I did not have God’s peace rest on me I don’t know how I would deal with the situation.

Maybe one day I will testify as to what happened but as of now I can not give any details. I just need prayer because this situation is a long process. But through it, I know I have God’s Grace and his Grace is sufficient.

Day 51: Not alone

I just want to take the time to thank so many supportive friends and family. Without these people I don’t know what I would do. Because of what occured yesterday my husband had to quit his job and we no longer have access to a car. In the up comming months life will be tough but I don’t have to do this all alone. The amount of support I have been offered is astounding and I just Thank God for placing so many loving, awesome people in my life.

Day 52: A Day to get my mind off things

Although I really wanted to stay home today my husband made me go on a shopping trip with my friend. I need to get my mind off a few things so I went on a shopping bus trip to Toronto where we went to a toy Factory and the mall. I’m so very glad I went on this trip as I completed Christmas shopping (Almost) and no longer have to worry about getting too many presents.

I also had the opportunity to spend time talking with my good friend and she has been awesome in helping me through our situation. I am glad my husband sent me on this trip even though I really wanted to be home to deal with things there. I am so very grateful to have a Husband who looks after me…I will be sure to return the favor. 🙂

Day 53: The Rose

I was at a ministry meeting and we watched a video (Forget who the speaker is) on ministry. The speaker was talking about an experience where he brought a friend of his to church. His Friend was having problems, she was having an affair and was sleeping around with a lot of people. This friend needed support as she was going through a rough lifestyle. When he brought his friend to church the speaker began to pull a “Hell hath no fury” message about sex. The Preacher had a rose and passed it around telling the audience to observe it, feel it, smell it etc. It went around then came back to him. He then proceeded to say “This Rose resembles those who sleep around. Look at it, torn, used, petals missing…who would want this? Don’t have sex nobody will want you!”

I couldn’t even imagine how this guy’s friend felt. I certainly do know how He felt though…in his mind he thought “Jesus would want that rose!”

Jesus wants those ruined roses, he wants those broken people, the hurting, the torn, the lost. Religion might not want these people but Jesus does. Jesus and Religion are 2 different things, and it’s due time that Churches have more of Jesus less of “religion”. There is a huge difference between doing religion and doing religion Jesus’ way. Following after Jesus makes a huge difference, I used to follow religion but barely knew Jesus, now that I know Jesus my eyes are opened. I used to be a broken, tattered rose but I know that Jesus wants me. And when we follow after Jesus, we will gatyher all those broken roses and we will love them like he loves us.

Day 54: Another day of a torn world

My world is still topsy turvy. But Thank God for good friends. My Husband was able to go on a quick job call (Computer repair) because a friend had lent us her car. My daughter also had an appointment in Peterborough and we needed a way there as well. Even through our torn world, things worked out and we are so grateful and blessed.

Nick and I are very stressed out and worn but through this storm we need to be solid rocks. And that’s just what we have to do…but solid as we are we can not do this alone, we can not face uncertainty without God. Whatever needs to be done God needs to be present and we are so grateful we have God as our rock. We’d be a mess without Him.

Day 55: And even more torn

Things seem to be getting harder. I was so stressed out this morning I almost had a seizure. Anxiety tried to take a toll on me but I did not allow it. I went to work, did my thing through this stress and was faced with more stress…Halleluja.

But again, today we had some friends help out which is awesome 🙂 In times of need and trouble we know who our true friends are and we hope to one day be there in their time of need too.

As for me, things got a bit harder at work as another coworker was fired and now so much is on my shoulder. I am stuck between two jobs and hope the burden is lifted. One job may be on the line and right now is such a bad time for it to happen. But I’m certain everything will work out…I just need to trust in God and keep going. So this is exactly what I am going to do.

Thankyou Lord for walking with me through this…infact I’m sure I’m being carried.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

