Days 28-35 in 10 week Revelation Challenge

Posted: October 18, 2012 in Faith

I have been madly busy the last few days…it has been quite crazy. Although I’d LOVE to sit down and blog I had sooo much to do. I’d blog over clean any day but the house had to be cleaned…and yet I’m blogging right now and there is STILL cleaning to be done. Now that I’m discussing cleaning I think I have another Revelation coming on…but I think I’ll save it.

Day 28: Breathe into me

I LOVE discovering awesome new music (To me). While listening to some Jars Of Clay on YouTube I came across a band called “Red” and heard one of their songs for the first time. And I imediately LOVED it, so much that I went and listened to all their songs on YouTube. Once in a while I enjoy praising to some Hard Rock tunes. I love the soft feel good music too but I’ve always been an edgy rock girl who likes lots of Drum, Bass and Electric. The First song I heard “Breathe into me” really hit home and made me emotional as well as lifted me up.

RED Breathe Into Me Lyrics

And this is how it feels when I ignore the words you spoke to me
And this is where I lose myself when I keep running away from you
And this is who I am when, when I don’t know myself anymore
And this is what I choose when it’s all left up to me

Breathe your life into me
I can feel you
I’m falling, falling faster
Breathe your life into me
I still need you
I’m falling, falling
Breathe into me
Breathe into me

And this is how it looks when I am standing on the edge
And this is how I break apart when I finally hit the ground
And this is how it hurts when I pretend I don’t feel any pain
And this is how I disappear when I throw myself away

Breathe your life into me
I can feel you
I’m falling, falling faster
Breathe your life into me
I still need you
I’m falling, falling
Breathe into me
Breathe into me
Breathe into me
Breathe into me

I find it just amazing how I can accidentally find songs that just hit home. So many times I have run from God, so many times I have tried to do things my way in my own strength but yet every time  just fail or become so overwhelmed that it forces me to seek refuge in God. I really need Jesus’ life breathed right into my life. I need those words that Jesus spoke come alive in my life…because without them I’m a wreck.

Day 29: Why do I follow an “Invisible” Man in the sky?

One of the most common questions I get is “Why are you a Christian?” or “Why do you belive in fairy tales written by man?”

I’ll admit, there are many many people out there who actually go to Church, read the Bible yet are just doing it because they belive in God, fear God and live the motions because they Have to. Some get into the routine of church stuff but really have no testimony to what God has done in their lives.

I belive in a creator because Science actually points to a creator. Something divine and unexplainable. I belive in Jesus because of all the experiences I have had in my life. Both spiritual and physical. I believe in Jesus because I can feel his presense. I belive in Jesus because he was perfect in the flesh and everything that has been recorded is just astonishing. It would honestly be hard for someone to compile a bunch of fairy tales about Jesus and what he did and say and write them the way they are. Jesus came in the true form of Love and gave his life for everyone…I don’t know about you but I would NEVER give my own life for the sins of mankind, I would never sacrifice myself for men and women who are in prison for vile deeds. The prophecies in the old testement spoke about Jesus and how he would come. People belived at the time that he would rule physically on earth but it was so much more than that. There is so much more than just a physical world. You can put the most amazing man in power today, the most fir leader, the wisest man who has ever lived and guess what? People would STILL opose them, there would STILL be world issues. NOBODY in this physical world can fix all the problems in the world. Even God says it will never be perfect, most of the old testement is recordings of Israel’s failures over and over and over again. God puts awesome people in power all the time but awesomeness doesn’t last forever. The fact that Jesus is reigning on a heavenly throne makes more sense. And I know he reigns because I feel it every day I wake up. And I’m not the only one who feels this way.

Most God’s like to be worshipped…Jehovah God doesn’t want just worship he also wants relationship and this is why my “Invisible” man in the sky is the God I choose. Idols can not satisfy me, gods who want only worship can not satisfy me only Jesus can satisfy me. Because not only do I have a God I have a friend.

Day 30: Give me strength

Days where I wake up and have to actually do physical labor really sucks. On my day off work I like to relax or clean the house a bit, but even then I take my merry time. But this 110 pound girl woke up and had to pile fire wood. I had already piled a ful Bush Cord and at the end of the drive way was another pile waiting for me. Why did I pile it? My Husband works everyday and my room mate just complains so I have not asked him to do anything for months. My Room mate is a great babysitter…not so great a wood piler. He dreads physical labor more than Paris Hilton dreads breaking a nail.

But I was tired and didn’t want to pile the wood. I was short of breath, feeling woozy and almost cried when I started. When you begin a job it always look huge…you dread having to finish and the finish line seems so far away. But I started anyway. And kept going, and pleaded to God to give me the strength to finish my task so I could look and marvel at the nicely piled wood.

While piling wood I got thinking. So many people have to do physical labor on a daily basis, they come home in pain. My husband has to work very hard and he comes home with bruises, sore feet, fatigue yet does not complain. I can only imagine the people in the Bible days who labored all week in the hot sun. hey didn’t have easy ways of doing things they had man power to rely on. There were no machines to make lives convenient. No tractor to plow a feild and harvest the feild. Everything was done through hard work.

So when I am faced with labor I can be thankful that there is so much in my daily life that makes things much easier.

Day 31: Out and about shopping

Today was a dreadful day. It was cold and when it started to rain it came as sleet. A little taste of winter weather. I got off work at 5pm and my husband dropped by. He had just been paid and asked if we could get some groceries so I was all up for heading off to our local grocery store. However when we went to the bank the ATM was out of service and the closest bank branch was in the city so it was off to the big city of Peterborough to do some shopping.

I love how sometimes you can be placed in the right place for a reason. We were going to shop locally but ended up at the bank in the city instead. While my husband was out depositing his cheque one of his coworkers who just so happened to be walking by with his girlfriend noticed us. They were off to go shopping for groceries in the really cruddy weather. So of course since we were going shopping why not bring them along as well? After all we had been trying to meet up.

We had so much fun and goofing off is much more fun when you are shopping with another like minded couple (There is much fun to be had at Wal Mart and the Grocery store) . Nick and I were blessed to hang out with them and they were very thankful that we just so happened to be in the right place at the right time so that we could bless them with shopping transportation. I’m just so blessed to have a kind hearthed Husband who loves to put others first 🙂

Day 32: Filling Up

I am totally missing out on the series of sermons at church called “Running on empty”. However I am very thankful for sermon notes. While I may have missed the sermon I can still study the scriptures and the main points. And you know, sometimes as a Christian you can feel like you are running on an empty gas tank.

Matthew 11:28-30 Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden light.

What a great passage. But what does it mean? Here is the same passage in different words.

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you will recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me-watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you will learn to live freely and lightly.”

I think this is a wonderful series and I’m a little dissapointed I have to miss it because I work Sunday Mornings. Hopefully I’ll be able to get some Sundays off but for now I am enjoying Sunday evening service and the many small groups I attend the rest of the week. I think I’ll give my burdens to Jesus too…along with everything great I have too. Nothing makes me happier than to please others so giving the best I have to Jesus will make me even happier.

Day 33: Those mini emergencies

Life has a way of creeping up on you. You really never know how your day will turn out. Things can change in the blink of an eye and thats exactly what happened to me today. My plans for the day were to work then go home and do a quick work shift from home, clean my house and prepare for the Young Adults get together at my house. Everything was going as normal until the school called my work place. My 6 year old daughter was in the office pale and had stomach cramps. S of course I thought “Oh Joy stomach bug.” My room mate was on his way to get her. However she was still in pain when he got there so the school wanted her to go to the hospital. We had no car. So the school called an ambulance and off she went. I had to get the other employee to cover my shift so I could rush over to the hospital, I called a few people and a good friend took time out of her day to drive me. When I got to the hospital my Daughter was 100% fine. Sigh, was just gas. Not even the stomach bug.

I was a little annoyed at spending 3 hours at the hospital for nothing but I did get to spend some quality time with my daughter and everything was okay. Had she have been sent home with the stomach bug we would have had to cancel our evening get together and we’d all end up getting sick. So I was thanking God for a wonderful outcome. And on the way home we even saw an awesome rainbow. I mentioned that it was sign of God’s promise…my daughter on the other hand insisted there were unicorns up there.

Day 34:  Time well spent

I am just so thankful for days where I have enough energy to spend with my daughter. Aurora helped me pile the last of the wood and then we went in and had dinner. After dinner Aurora had a nice bath and we sat at the table working on her homework. People need a lot of patience to get their kids to do homework so today I was thankful that I had lots of patience.

Aurora finished most of her homework, in fact we finished just in time as my husband came home and him and I were off to our friend’s house for dinner. I was so happy to have good quality time with my daughter and it always feels nice to be able to reward her for a job well done.

I then had the opportunity to spend some quality time with friends and was so very grateful they prepared an awesome meal just for us (Really awesome and tasty ham) it is always such a priviledge to spend time with good friends especially new ones.

Day 35: Open the eyes of my Heart

Today’s revelation was so refreshing. I volunteer at a Wednesday night Kids group at church. Many of the kids who come do nt have a church back ground their parenbts just allow them to attend and they have such an amazing time. We had lots of fun but at the end of the evening all the children got to spend time praising and worshipping the Lord. We sang “Open the eyes of my heart” and I was overwhelmed by the little voices singing the song. All the kids were singing, it was so beautiful and pure. I realized that this must be music to God’s ears. These children are the future and I can not wait to see them grow 🙂

Leave a Reply

