10 week challenge Day 26: Surprise!

Posted: October 9, 2012 in Faith

 

So I had to work on Thanksgiving Monday…bummer. So I had to work a few extra hours at work and miss out on the local fair…double bummer. I didn’t get a chance to attend the Norwood Fall Fair this year but I did last year so that’s good enough, besides it was pretty cold this weekend and I didn’t really have all that much money. I served coffee from 7 in the morning till 6 in the evening, the other employee needed the day off for Thanksgiving dinner so I figured I would work a few extra hours. After all I wasn’t having any thanksgiving dinner and there was no way on earth I was going to head home after 11 hours at work to go prepare dinner.

At 6pm I left work and proceeded to walk home. Asking God for the strength to be able to lift my finger and clean my house, do laundry and cook dinner. I was tired, my feet hurt and I knew there was much to be done at home as both my husband and I were busy all weekend. Thgere was a pile of Laundry waiting to be washed, a dog who would be waiting to be let out, dishes galore, livingroom to clean up, bedroom to tidy…and over and over again I thought about the work cut out for me for Thursday and Friday. I need to clean out the shed so that we can pile wood. Sounds like a blast!

But you know, God is so good. I asked for something as simple as a little strength to be able to clean and He gave me much much more. And sometimes that’s how God works, you may ask for something small not wanting to bother God but he will answer your prayer ten fold and give you much much more.

About halfway home My husband picked me up, I figured that he had just gotten back from work. I got in the car and sked him how his day was. “Well, I didn’t work today, the crew was not there.” He said.

“Oh, by the way sweetie, I ordered 2 cords of wood for this weekend, we need to get the shed cleaned out somethime this week.” I mentioned. I was dreading this task and hinting that I needed help.

“Sure, by the way the house is cold.” He said.

“I’ll make a fire when I get home don’t worry.” I said. I was expecting to get home, make a fire and a quick meal and proceed to clean the house.

When I got home I was surprised by a fire already made, a shed cleaned out and last years wood neatly piled, insulation on the back sliding door, and the smell of a home cooked meal. Plus the house was also clean and laundry already started! And all I asked for was a little extra strength to clean my house!

And I am so very thankful for my husband. He really is wonderful. He really provided me with a nice surprise which was an epic gesture. Soimetimes thats what you need in marriage, going out of your way to just surprise one another. Last year when we got wood I piled ALL of it so when my husband got home from work he didnt have to pile it. This surprised him and he really appreciated the fact that he could relax and not have to worry about piling 2 cords of wood. Maybe this is why we get along so well and the majority of our serious arguments are usually about silly things like agreeing on a movie to watch.

Everyone loves a good surprise 🙂 Thank the Lord for awesome surprises!

Leave a Reply

