Day 23-25 in 10 week challenge

Posted: October 7, 2012 in Faith

Day 23: Let my love be the proof of your love

Today was one of those song revelation days. Sometimes you are just spoken through by use of a song and the song that stuck out this day was “The Proof of Your Love” By For King and Country.

 If I sing but don’t have love
I waste my breath with every song
I bring an empty voice, a hollow noise
If I speak with a silver tongue
Convince a crowd but don’t have love
I leave a bitter taste with every word I say

So let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love
Let my love look like You and what You’re made of
How You lived, how You died
Love is sacrifice
So let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love

The greatest command in the Bible is to love. Anyone can do something nice and do so without Love in their hearts. So many times there are people who have a pridefilled heart rather than a love filled heart. Pride filled hearts get torn down much faster than the Love filled heart. I’ve experienced a pride filled heart before, at first it feels nice to get attention and praise but what happens when the attention runs out? You are just left emepty inside, upset and bitter. It’s not a very nice feeling. But a Love filled humble heart endures dry seasons. A love filled heart doesn’t need attention, nor does it need constant praise. The feeling of doing something good even though nobody knows about it is more priceless than all the attention and fame in the world.

How does one show this kind of humble, self sacrificing love? Love like Jesus. He Loved everyone even though he knew that nobody deserved the sacrifice he went through. We do not deserve what he did for us. Jesus loved those that the world out casted, he loved the Samaritan Woman, the Tax collectors, even Zaccheaus the crooked tax collector who ripped everyone off. Jesus changed hearts through the love that he showed. The Love he showed to those who didn’t deserve it. And that’s how we are to love, selflessly, loving like Jesus did even if people don’t deserve it.

Day 24: Putting it to practise

Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father which is in Heaven.” Matthew 5:16

The world seems to resist wanting to hear about Jesus. It’s understandable, people really hate having religion or Jesus or scripture shoved down their throat and rightfully so. I’m a Christian and I even get annoyed when a Mormon or Jehova’s witness shows up at my door…mainly because I’m too nice to tell them to scram and when you are nice they just keep returning. I’ve actually converted a Jehova’s witness once, just by simply showing her scripture and how much better it is to follow God through Jesus.

God doesn’t need us to preach, preaching is for the believer, preaching is for those who already believe and need some equiping. Call it training if you will. As believers God requires us to simply shine our light. And this is harder than saying a few words. “Hi, I’m a Christian.” Yeah? So what? So is Jimmy down the road and he curses like a sailor and beats his wife.

God needs up to shine our light and put into practise what Jesus teaches. This means actually having a different lifestyle, being nice to people even though you might want to punch their lights out, being all of the fruits of the Spirit and actually applying them. Nobody can get mad if you practise Love, Joy, peace, patience, Kindness, goodness, faithfullness, gentleness and self control. But they certainly will start judging once you start showing some rotten fruit like gossip, lies, foul language, anger etc. Everyone has produced bad fruit…I’m a good example of that. Sometimes you just need to shed the bad fruit so the good fruit is still on the tree.

People can resist hearing about Jesus…but can they avoid seeing Jesus? Think about it. Not getting through to people? Maybe it’s time to put into practise all that Christ has been telling us to.

Day 25: Thanksgiving

I am thankful for my job, I am thankful for my job, I am thankful…

Today was one of those days where I started to get a little flustered. It’s Thanksgiving, I had to work and people were outright rude today. I mean, there’s nothing like  getting the old “I’m going to make sure you get fired” threat just because you made someone’s coffee wrong. Heaven forbid I stir when told not to because I didn’t hear them. It’s coffee for goodness sake, not the end of the world and people should have more patience especially during a busy long weekend right?

But hey, I bit my toungue even though I REALLY wanted to say something…even though people in line were waiting for me to reply. I just simply fixed his coffee and said “Have a happy Thanksgiving” and even though he walked out flustered I just simply continued…why? Because there’s really zero point in wasting time answering back to a person of miserable status. The next person in line even asked “So why didn’t you say anything? He was being rude.”

“It’s thanksgiving…besides, maybe after he drinks his coffee and feels perked up he’ll regret being rude, I know I do when I’m rude to people, I’ll regret it later on.” After all…today is a day to be thankful right?

I’m thankful I have a job. I’m thankful I have a warm house to live in, clean water, food. I don’t have a thanksgiving meal today, in fact I’m probably going to eat pasta for dinner but thats great, it’s food and I am happy to have it. While some of my friends may say “Wow that kinda sucks.” I know deep down I am very happy for pasta. I have Pasta, many other people will not even eat today. I have an abundant list to be thankful for today, I’m rich, healthy and happy. Today I am thankful, even for those who grumble. 🙂

Leave a Reply

