The 8 year disaster.

Posted: November 14, 2011 in random

8 years ago I was a 16 year old teen girl who didn’t have a clue in the world what the future held. 8 years ago, the geek boy in my class did…he was going to spend the rest of his life with me even though I didn’t know it yet. I laughed at his silly dream but yet on November 14th 2003 I decided to date him. I tried the whole “I want to be single…I have major issues you don’t want to date me…I have zero intereste as you as a boyfriend” Speil but it didn’t work. 8 years ago I made a decision that had a bigger impact than I could have ever imagined at that time. After all I was just a clueless 16 year old highschool girl.

8 years later I’m married to this nerd and I am deeply in love with him and not only that we’re Best friends. I know many couples have their guys/girls nights out and all that seperate life stuff but we don’t need that…we’re quite literally BFFs who like mostly the same things. When God said “And when they leave their mother and father they become ONE in Marriage…” he really meant that, Nick and I are glued together and we humbly appologize to the world…for whatever disaster the two of us can cause together.

8 years of a relationship and I have honestly learned a lot. Here’s what I have learned over the years.

1. Being ADD has it’s advantages. I always thought it was a disability but it really comes in handy in our marriage. You see when I fight with my husband and walk off to sleep elsewhere I will fall asleep for about an hour, wake up, wonder why I’m not in bed, forget that we fought then proceed back to bed. Then we both wake up and pretend that I didn’t walk away in a huff and puff.

2. We always decide on what to watch on TV together. There never has been a case where I want to watch say MTV (why would I watch MTV?) and he wants to watch Sports. There’s none of that in this household. No arguments over what to watch. Why? We like the same crap so the decision is actually quite easy. “Hey Nick! Wanna watch Myth Busters?” “Yep sounds good…”

3. My husband is a Video Gamer and I have always enjoyed watching others play video games. Sometimes I join in but for the most part I enjoy watching. I’ll sit there and watch my husband play Dragon Age or Call of Duty or whatever and sometimes I’ll even be a sweet heart and go find game walk throughs for him.

4. The one who works less does less housework. We did equal amounts of chores up until I went from Full time to part time. I work 8-10 hours a week from home so I do 98% of the house work. And I don’t complain about it either. But on days I need help with stuff my husband will usually lend a helping hand…also he fixes the stuff I can’t or won’t fix.

5. I shovel the driveway, do other physical jobs around the house JUST for boasting rights. Ladies should pile wood, shovel snow and other stuff like that just so they can brag. Oh and it’s a great work out too.

6. It’s okay to eat Husband’s food…I need it more than him.

7. When you get married you aquire a family filled with nuts. Then you realize both sides of the family have equal amount of nuts…infact it’s probable we’re all nut cases. But there’s always that one or two family members who aquire nut alergies and stay away from everyone.

8. My husband enjoys fishing, I enjoy Bible Devotional so I read the Bible to my husband while he goes fishing. My husband hates reading and I hate fishing so it’s win win.

9. When in need of comfy clothes, loot husbands side of the closet. Actually we got lazy and our clothes just kinda mix.

10. Wearing the same socks is great. We buy two packs of wal mart 20 pair socks for $10 and we’re all set. We even have a little tradition that dates back to highschool where we wear one white and one black sock. And we don’t care how stupid it looks we just do it anyway.

11. When you both consume garlic at dinner there is no such thning as bad breath, just syncronized breath.

12. Farts are always funny!

13. Farts are even funnier when you can make your spouse exit the room…

14. We use geek slang every day that only geeks would understand. I have always wondered if geek couples have actally rolled for initiative literally >< Or failed a search check, or said “Make it so number one.”

15. When severe weather approaches we both get excited…I always call the front half of the house for funnel watching and he calls the back because thats where all the good lightning strikes.

16. I NEVER trust him when he’s smirking…

17. Doing the little things for one another add up.

18. If he has the garden hose…I run.

19. Bickering relieves stress and provides entertainment for others.

20. The dog and kid might be more obedient to my husband but I know they totally love me more.

Happy 8 year anniversary Nickie! I love you so much and I’m so glad you never gave up on me 🙂

Comments
  1. Jennifer says:

    My son has ADHD and reading this article really made me smile. I do believe he is blessed with a lot of bonuses non-ADHD people don’t have. He is special in the best way and I love him. His mind is the most interesting place! Also, the little notes about your marriage made me smile so much. You two definitely have it down right. Blessings to both of you.

Leave a Reply

