10 years later millions of stories.

Posted: September 10, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

There are literally millions of people who remember where they were, who they were with and what they were doing when they heard about the attacks 1o years ago on American soil. The world watched, many in shock, many confused and thousands in desperation to contact loved ones who were in those towers at that time.

Heroes died, innocent lives were lost, fear gripped a nation. This wasn’t a natural disaster, a natural disaster can not take blame for a death toll, this was an attack by the brainwashed enemy. They succeeded and the whole world changed.

As the news floods in with recollections 10 years later, some from those who were there, some from those who lost loved ones, many from around the nation and world, there is even a recollection of an American man who was on the International Space Station at the time. There will be millions of Facebook statuses, Tweets and Blogs tomorrow as those who witnessed the events unfold 10 years ago recal where they were. I Remember where I was, and I’m going to join those Millions in sharing my 9-11 experience.

First of all, I am Canadian, I do not know anyone who died in the attacks and maybe 9-11 doesn’t hit home as much as it does American’s and those who have actually lost someone in the tragic event. But I will always remember where I was and what I was doing on that day. And because I remember, obviously tomorrow’s date is important.

It was a clear sunny day in my town and I left in the morning to go to school. I was in grade 9, my second week of highschool. It was Tuesday and I was worrying about the fact that my Afternoon Math Class had switched locations. I went to my English class but don’t remember what we did. It was my second Period Class which was Family Studies (Which is essentially Home Ec) where I heard the news. We were in the school library that day working quietly on a project. Our teacher interrupted us and informed us that a plane had crashed into the World Trade Center.

I was in grade 9, I didn’t know what the World Trade Center was. I thought it was a shopping mall when I first heard the name. I didn’t know anything about New York City or Manhattan. When my teacher broke the news, I immediately thought that a plane had simply crashed. She then informed us that it was a hijacked plane and that a second plane had hit.

Probably like everyone else in Canada and the USA we assumed that planes were just dropping out of the sky crashing into stuff. If we heard jet engines we all got nervous thinking “What if a plane crashes into the school?” We all talked amongst ourselves with worry. Terrorism, would this start a world war?

I went home for Lunch and my parents were glued to the TV. Every single TV network had the Breaking News. By then a Plane had crashed into the Pentagon, the towers had fallen, and a plane had crashed into a feild. I ate my lunch and had my eyes glued to the TV. Now I knew what the Trade Center was and just how big a disaster was unfolding before my very eyes. People jumping out of the buildings, people trapped, people who had died instantly without even knowing they were going to die that day.

I was 14 and I was scared. I walked back to school and kept my eyes on the sky. There were no planes, they had all been grounded. The sky would not have planes flying in it for the next 24 hours. I wonder what it would have been like to have been at an air port when this happened, so much chaos and confusion and fear.

After school I came home, I could not watch any more coverage so I went outside. I went to the park where kids younger than me were talking about what had happened. Some of them were scared, fearing a World War. Kids spoke of the Taliban, of Afghanistan. Heck I didn’t even know about Afghanistan until this day. I had known about Iraq but not Afghanistan.  Even young kids knew that what had happened could have just started a war. I was full of anxiety because I was uncertain what the next few months would bring.The Man hunt for Osama Bin Laden had just begun.

And here I am 10 years later. There haven’t been any attacks on Canadian Or American soil but there have been close calls. London was attacked between then and now. Many other Countries withstood attacks on buildings and Trains. Airport security is very tight, security everywhere is very tight. They Found Osama Bin Laden this year too and while some celebrated I sat here knowing that He was just 1 influential man and that someone will rise after him…on top of that there are conspiracies, did they really kill him?

Canadians need to remember 9-11 too. Our troops are in Afghanistan still and they face dangers each day because the threat of the Al Qaida is still there. Many men and women have died in both Afghanistan and Iraq since September 11 2001.

September 11th 2001 is Iconic whether you agree or disagree. Tomorrow the world is going to reflect on the 10th anniversary of a Tragic Event. I will be joining in reflecting. I will remember.

Leave a Reply

